Leadership Macon


Leadership Macon provides leadership training and community orientation to individuals seeking to become more involved in the growth and development of Macon-Bibb County.¬†Leadership Macon is a year-long program that introduces a class of rising community leaders to the successes and challenges in Macon-Bibb County’s public, private, and nonprofit sectors allowing the class to explore possible projects and solutions, interact with political and community leaders, and develop relationships that will benefit class members and the community at large for years to come.

Leadership Macon training begins with an examination of leadership styles, characteristics, and effectiveness followed by a weekend retreat at the beginning of the year. Monthly seminars follow on topics such as Housing, Education, Servant Leadership, Economic Development, Race Relations, Tourism, and Local Government. Each class provides a forum for guest community decision-makers to present topics and dig deeply into the complexity and various viewpoints surrounding each topic. The seminar format provides an opportunity for hardline questions and answers that traditionally cannot be addressed during more formal or routine public forums and allows the focus to change with each class adapting to reflect the current pulse of the community. Each year Leadership Macon brings together outstanding individuals and provides unparalleled access to organizations, their leadership, and perspective in our community. Frank, candid exchanges of ideas are not only hallmarks of the program, but are the foundation on which Leadership Macon continues to build. The program’s goal is that each Leadership Macon graduate will be equipped with the knowledge, relationships, and enthusiasm needed for active, effective community involvement and enrichment.

In 1979, through the Greater Macon Chamber of Commerce, Charles Jay and Bob Hatcher brought 25 local leaders from diverse areas and backgrounds in Middle Georgia to form the first Leadership Macon class. Formally organized as an association in 1984, Leadership Macon boasts over 1,500 alumni with a new class of leaders graduating every year for more than 40 years.

Leadership Macon Class of 2024

Rachel Adams | Stratford Academy
Adrianna Beavers | Macon+Bibb County
Devona Bell | Central Georgia Technical College
Brandi Bernthal | Cadence Bank
Jeff Cohen | The Masonic Home of Georgia
Hannah Couch | U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of Georgia
Amanda Fiebig | AF Realty Group
Edward Fletcher | Atrium Health Navicent The Medical Center
Haley Garrett | Visit Macon
Mallori Gattis | Regency Hospital
Jeremy Grissom | Office of the Mayor
Patrick Harris | Georgia Power
Tangie Herring | Self – Employed
Shavonda Hill | U.S. Senate- Senator Raphael Warnock
Melinda Hollingshed | Mercer University
Anthony Howard | Serenity Entertainment Complex
Jordan Jackson | Southern Majority, LLC
Tanisha Johnson | Wesleyan College – First For Women
Virginia Josey | Virginia Josey Law
Alexander Kevelier | Blue Bird Body Company
Rhea Lastinger | Georgia Farm Bureau
Chris Lindsey | OrthoGeorgia
Kelsey Mahone | MidSouth Community Federal Credit Union
Hays McQueen | James Bates Brannan Groover LLP
Danny Miller | Georgia Department of Transportation
Thomas Norton | Stone & Baxter, LLP
John Patterson | First Presbyterian Day School
Felicia Pearson-Powell | Macon-Bibb County Health Department
Jessica Plante | In-Fill Housing, Inc
William Putnal | Hodges, Harbin, Newberry & Tribble, Inc. (HHNT)
Mary Roberts | Middle Georgia State University
Quintessa Solomon-Hardy | Intune
Timothy Statham | Bibb County School District BOE/Ballard-Hudson Middle School
George Thomas | NewTown Macon
Anna Vatagina | SPINEN (Specialized Information Environments, Inc)
Olivia Walter | Macon Bibb County
Jeff Wilhelm | Northwestern Mutual
Spencer Woody | James-Bates-Brannan-Groover-LLP

Leadership Macon participants are selected through nomination and evaluation of their leadership traits and potential. Leadership Macon accepts nominations for potential applicants from alumni and other interested citizens using an online form. Class sizes are limited. Attendance at all monthly sessions is required during the year. Tuition for the class is $1,800 for Chamber Investors and $2050 for nonmember investors. Scholarships and payment plans are available.


Leadership Macon Advisory Board

Alison Bender
Board Chair

Steven Jones

Board Members

Ansley Booker
Rolando Dixon
Jake Hall
Tim Hemingway
Kaitlynn Kressin
Barbara Parker
Gary Rosser
Asbury Stembridge
Logan Thomas
Sonja Tillman
Che Young

Greater Macon Chamber of Commerce Staff

J.R. Olive

Director of Workforce

Rebekah Hollar

Programs & Marketing Manager